After the Forest: The unforgettable magical historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Emilia Hart

$37.00

After the Forest: The unforgettable magical historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Emilia Hart

3 in stock

SKU: 9781460762028 Category:

Description

The stunning historical fantasy taking the world by storm – and captivating some of the biggest names in Australian fiction

‘Deliciously irresistible’ Natasha Lester

‘Historical fantasy at its best’ Belinda Alexandra

‘Utterly enchanting’ Kate Forsyth




Ginger. Honey. Cinnamon. Flour.

A drop of blood to bind its power.

1650: The Black Forest, Wurttemberg. Fifteen years after the witch in the gingerbread house, Greta and Hans are struggling to get by. Their father and stepmother are long dead, Hans is deeply in debt from gambling, and the countryside lies in ruin, its people recovering in the aftermath of a brutal war.

Greta has a secret, though: the witch’s grimoire, secreted away and whispering in her ear, and the recipe inside that makes the most sinfully delicious – and addictive – gingerbread. As long as she can bake, Greta can keep her small family afloat.

But in a village full of superstition, Greta and her intoxicating gingerbread is a source of ever-growing suspicion and vicious gossip.

And now, dark magic is returning to the woods and Greta’s own power – magic she is still trying to understand – may be the only thing that can save her …

If it doesn’t kill her first.

PRAISE FOR AFTER THE FOREST

‘A dark and wondrous tale. Utterly enchanting’ Kate Forsyth, bestselling author of The Crimson Thread

‘Deliciously irresistible … A gorgeous debut that you’ll consume in one gulp’ Natasha Lester, New York Time bestselling author of The Three Lives of Alix St Pierre

‘Evocative, vivid and enchanting: Historical fantasy at its best’ Belinda Alexandra, bestselling author of The French Agent

‘Utterly captivating … Dark as molasses and dripping with witchcraft, love and magic gingerbread’ Lauren Chater, bestselling author of The Winter Dress

‘A love song to fairy tales … Sweet as gingerbread and bitterly dark as heart’s blood’ Angela Slatter, award-winning author of The Path of Thorns

‘Woods is a born storyteller … Sophisticated and intricately plotted’ Jo Riccioni, award-winning author of The Branded and The Rising

‘Excellent historical fantasy … Poetic, evocative, and most of all, addictive. An author to watch and a powerhouse debut’ Grimdark Magazine

‘I was hooked from start to end … With magic, werewolves, gingerbread and a beautiful love story, this Australian debut kept me coming back for more’ Cassie Landt, BorrowBox

Title: After the Forest: The unforgettable magical historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Emilia Hart
Author: Woods, Kell
ISBN: 9781460762028
Publication date: 04/10/2023
Price: $37.00
Publisher: HARPER COLLINS
Format: Paperback